Visa on Arrival in Thailand: Everything You Need to Know

Are you planning a trip to Thailand and wondering how to obtain a Visa on Arrival? Look no further! In this article, we will provide you with all the essential information you need to know about the Visa on Arrival process in Thailand.

Visa on Arrival

Qualifications for Visa on Arrival

To be eligible for a Visa on Arrival in Thailand, you must fulfill certain criteria. Here are the qualifications required:

  • The Visa on Arrival must be used on the date of issue.
  • You must be a citizen of a nationality listed by the Ministry of Interior.
  • Your passport should have at least 1 month validity and 2 blank pages.
  • Your purpose of touring should not exceed 15 days.
  • You must have fully paid onward travel tickets and a confirmed return ticket within 30 days.
  • You must provide a verified address in Thailand.
  • You must not be under section 12 of the Immigration Act B.E.2522 (A.D.1979).
  • The visa fee is 2,000 Baht in Thai currency, payable in cash and non-refundable.
  • You should have proof of means of living expenses, 10,000 Baht per person, and 20,000 Baht per family.
  • One recent photo is required.
  • You may apply for Visa on Arrival if you hold a passport from one of the countries/territories mentioned below.
  • You need to fill out the application form, which you can obtain at the designated ports of entry into Thailand.
Read more  Reissue of OCI Application: Simplified Process for iBlog Users

List of Countries Eligible for Visa on Arrival

The following countries/territories are entitled to apply for a Visa on Arrival in Thailand:

  1. Bhutan: Kingdom of Bhutan
  2. Bulgaria: Republic of Bulgaria
  3. China: People’s Republic of China
  4. Cyprus: Republic of Cyprus
  5. Ethiopia: Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
  6. Fiji (Country in the jurisdiction of the Royal Thai Embassy, Canberra)
  7. Georgia
  8. India
  9. Kazakhstan: Republic of Kazakhstan
  10. Malta
  11. Mexico: Republic of Mexico
  12. Nauru
  13. Papua New Guinea (Country in the jurisdiction of the Royal Thai Embassy, Canberra)
  14. Romania
  15. Saudi Arabia
  16. Taiwan
  17. Uzbekistan
  18. Vanuatu (Country in the jurisdiction of the Royal Thai Embassy, Canberra)

Immigration Checkpoints Providing Visa on Arrival Facilities

Several immigration checkpoints in Thailand offer facilities for the issuance of Visa on Arrival. Here is the list of those checkpoints:

  1. Suvarnabhumi Airport
  2. Don Muang International Airport, Bangkok
  3. Chiangmai International Airport, Chiangmai
  4. Phuket International Airport, Phuket
  5. Hatyai International Airport, Songkhla
  6. U Tapao Airport, Rayong
  7. Mae Sai Immigration Checkpoint, Chiangrai
  8. Chiang Saen Immigration Checkpoint, Chiangrai
  9. Chiang Khong Immigration Checkpoint, Chiangrai
  10. Betong Immigration Checkpoint, Yala
  11. Sadoa Immigration Checkpoint, Songkhla
  12. Samui Airport, Surat Thani
  13. Sukhothai International Airport, Sukhothai
  14. Bangkok Harbour Immigration Checkpoint, Bangkok
  15. Sri Racha Immigration Checkpoint, Chonburi
  16. Mabtaput Immigration Checkpoint, Rayong
  17. Nong Khai Immigration Checkpoint, Nong Khai
  18. Samui Immigration Checkpoint, Surat Thani
  19. Phuket Immigration Checkpoint, Phuket
  20. Satun Immigration Checkpoint, Satun
  21. Krabi Immigration Checkpoint, Krabi
  22. Songkhla Harbour Immigration Checkpoint, Songkhla
  23. Chiangrai Airport Immigration Checkpoint, Chiangrai
  24. Surat Thani Airport Immigration Checkpoint, Surat Thani
  25. Pattaya Immigration Checkpoint, Chonburi
  26. Klong Yai Immigration Checkpoint, Trat
  27. Pong Nam Ron Immigration Checkpoint, Trat
  28. Aranyaprathet Immigration Checkpoint, Aranyaprathet
  29. Mukdaharn Immigration Checkpoint, Mukdaharn
  30. Tak Immigration Checkpoint, Tak
  31. Padang Besar Immigration Checkpoint, Songkhla
  32. Sungai Kolok Immigration Checkpoint, Sungai Kolok
Read more  Prayers for Safe Travel: Find Peace and Protection on Your Journey


Q: Can I apply for a Visa on Arrival online?
A: No, the Visa on Arrival can only be applied for in-person at the designated service counters.

Q: How long is the Visa on Arrival valid for?
A: The Visa on Arrival is valid for 15 days.

Q: Can I extend my Visa on Arrival?
A: No, the Visa on Arrival cannot be extended.


Obtaining a Visa on Arrival for your trip to Thailand is a straightforward process as long as you fulfill the necessary criteria. Be sure to check the list of eligible countries/territories and the designated immigration checkpoints. Prepare all the required documents and enjoy your visit to Thailand hassle-free!

For more information about Visa on Arrival (VOA) to Thailand, you can visit iBlog.

Related Articles

Back to top button